A family owned and operated business, Mayfields was originally established in Orange N.S.W in 1948. A local favourite. Mayfields continued to supply the Central West for over 30 years.
A Step Back In Time...
In the Spring of 1948 Herb Mayfield and his son-in-law Ray Golland bought a shed behind the Orange Fire Station and commenced production of soft drinks which they sold from a converted Buick touring car to the corner stores around Orange.
Herb and one employee using a single head filler ran the factory while Ray managed White’s Shoe Store during the day and looked after the books of the partnership of Mayfield’s Cordials at night. This was still a time of shortages and rationing and the new partnership didn’t have a quota for sugar or bottles. Sugar was obtained from sundry suppliers who could not use their full quota for one reason or another, while sauce, beer, and wine bottles were used because soft drink bottles simply could not be bought.
In 1949 Mayfields acquired the business run by Davis and Potter at 2-6 Sampson St., Orange. This purchase meant big changes to the business. Neville Kerr joined the partnership, and from a single head filler the manufacture progressed to an 8-head filler, a much larger factory, a real sugar quota and entry to the soft drink bottle market.